PDA

View Full Version : Are small frozen shrimps good?

mr.ius
06-04-2006, 11:15 PM
aloha everyone,
I just moved back to indonesia from hawaii and just getting started to join in on the hobby since i got myself a small super-red about 4 months old (kinda cute) but I was a bit worried about what to feed it, they say that fresh water shrimps are the best source for protein.
i gave it those small lil' white shrimps and that boy can really eat!:D however.. those lil' dudes wont last long, AKA they rest in peace in a single day, plus they make the tank where i put 'em smell like crap :mad:
so i decided to give my super-red some frozen shrimps, but they are only available in small sizes, which means when they melt, they are too small and sometimes stay at the bottom.
so whats the best way to keep your live shrimp stocks alive, or if frozen is recommended, whats the best tip?

sorry if i ask too much, im still new at this :o

tigers
06-05-2006, 12:46 AM
fresh water shrimps need lower temperature water 24-26C, try put a little ice, and dont to many in 1 tank

hengky
06-05-2006, 01:51 AM
Im no where near pro...but IMO if u can get ur SR to eat MP (market prawn) that would be wonderful...save lotsa trouble like those "craps" u juz mentioned earlier on:p ....or should i say makes our life way easier. U might wanna watch out for those hard shell tho. or maybe u can try alternate other food source to feed too, like crickets (i frozen them):p But unfortunately, Im rather facing a sucky phase where my SR seems to be annoying those delicious foods myself...so like i said, juz an opinion. ohh...welcome back and welcome abroad here :) :congrats:

nin0
06-05-2006, 03:41 AM
Hello Bro, welcome back to Indonesia!
Prawn is a good source of nutriens for Aro. Any idea to train Aro to feed on dead prawn?

thx,
-nin0

mr.ius
06-05-2006, 08:14 AM